Bring it on Sandy

Everything is closed down today due to Hurricane Sandy. So I am spending the day at home glued to the news trying to take advantage of the power while it lasts. Wind and light rain here now but the shore areas are not looking good. I went out yesterday to stock up on some supplies in case the power does go out.

Scored this battery-operated radio from Sears for about $8. All the other stores I went to either didn’t carry them or were already sold out. I got one of 3 that were left!


When I came home I decided to make some granola bars with this awesome granola I bought at Shoprite the other day.

It is honey flavored with chopped nuts. I didn’t really have a recipe in mind so I just kind of winged it adding honey, agave, peanut butter, and chocolate chips. I heated the honey, agave, and peanut butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds and then mixed in the granola. When it was thoroughly mixed I added a few handfuls of chocolate chips. I then poured the mixture on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and chilled it in the fridge. I am not going to leave any measurements here because I used way too much peanut butter. I will keep experimenting until I find something that works. But these were still pretty good. They certainly help fill my craving for granola bars and something sweet.

For those of you on the East Coast, I hope you all stay safe, warm, and dry!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

