Veggie Burgers for Dinner

I never really liked veggie burgers until a few months ago when I tried one that my mom had bought from Costco (Don Lee Farms Veggie Patties). She gave them a ringing endorsement. I have been searching for a protein rich alternative to beef patties so I decided to give them a try. These were actually pretty tasty. They don’t stay together too well on the grill but cook nicely on the stove. Since they are from Costco they come in a huge container but they actually freeze pretty well so you don’t have to worry about them going bad. I like to eat them on a whole-wheat bun with mustard, ketchup, and guacamole or avocado slices. Unlike other “veggie” burgers I have had in the past these are not filled with tofu and rice. They are actually made with vegetables. They are great to have on hand for nights when you just don’t feel like cooking.
But last night I was inspired to make my own veggie burgers. I searched the Internet high and low for the perfect veggie or bean burger recipe. Nothing really jumped out at me so I decided I would come up with my own creation.

I used carrots, onions, black beans, breadcrumbs, and an egg white (to help hold the burger together). I had absolutely no idea how these were going to come out and I didn’t want to have enough for multiple patties only to throw it all out. So I started with one small carrot finely chopped, a quarter of a yellow onion finely chopped, about a quarter of 15 oz. can of black beans, mashed with a fork, a couple spoonfuls of breadcrumbs, and one egg white. I also added some garlic powder, black pepper, and chili powder. I mixed everything together with my hands and shaped it into a burger. I cooked it on the stove in a little bit of canola oil for about 8 minutes, 4 minutes on each side. It came out pretty well. I like the taste and the patty did not fall apart in the heat. I do think I used a bit too much breadcrumbs and egg. Next time I will have to make more of the mixture so each burger has less egg in it.

Instead of french fries I cooked some red potatoes in the oven to go along with the burger.

Not pictured is the major amount of mustard and ketchup I added to the burger. Because I think everything tastes better when smothered in mustard and ketchup.

Leave a Reply

